Chinese Astrology Signs

The Twelve Signs of the Chinese Zodiac

Twelve Signs make up the Chinese Zodiac. Legend has it, the twelve animals were summoned by Buddah to a race. The order in which they completed the race would determine the ranking order of the signs. In order to test the animals, Buddah charted the course across land and sea. The clever rat, knowing there was no chance for victory, surveyed the group of animals and decided that the best option was to climb onto the back of the ox who was capable of moving fast across land, strong enough to move through rough terrain, and could swim across water. Just as they neared the finish line, the Rat jumped off and thus became the first sign! Click on an animal below to learn more about each of the twelve signs.



The Five Elements of the Chinese Zodiac


Woodfirewatermetal and earth are a fundamental part of Chinese philosophy. Each element is in control of another element and is dependent upon another element, thus fostering an environment where each element is of equal strength.

Find out more